Jimmie Johnson led Renger van der Zande on the nine-hour mark of the Rolex 24 At Daytona because the No. 48 Ally Cadillac DPi took management of the race. Johnson held a 1.3 second lead on van der Zande within the Chip Ganassi Racing No. 01 Cadillac DPi.

Working third was Alexander Rossi within the Wayne Taylor Racing No. 10 Acura DPi.

A routine pit cease at first of the hour by van der Zande allowed Kamui Kobayashi to take over the race lead. Kobayashi then placed on a driving clinic, pulling away from van der Zande by over 18 seconds

Halfway by way of the hour, Kobayashi yielded the machine to Johnson for his second stint. Additionally halfway by way of the hour, Conway took over for Felipe Nasr within the Motion Categorical Cadillac.

AJ Allmendinger turned the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura DPi over to Dane Cameron at first of the hour; the automotive was sixth on the nine-hour mark.

“It was all proper,” mentioned Allmendinger after his stint. “I want we had somewhat bit extra velocity proper now. We’re struggling simply getting the entrance finish to show. We’re preventing arduous – all people at Meyer Shank Racing. The blokes and ladies on this race staff are working arduous to maintain bettering the automotive. If we get an extended yellow, I believe we are able to make some changes which may assist it, nevertheless it’s not going to be a fast repair. We’re going to maintain preventing. We received again on the lead lap, that helped, and it was enjoyable. It’s enjoyable battling with the blokes. I want I used to be somewhat bit faster, however we’ll hold preventing.”

Additionally on the nine-hour mark, Thomas Merrill maintained the lead in LMP2 over Gabriel Aubry, who took over the No. 8 ORECA. Andrea Belicchi, now within the No. 47 Dallara ran third with Paul-Loup Chatin operating fourth within the No. 18 ORECA.

There was little change within the GTLM class: Antonio Garcia continues to steer over Tommy Milner and David Rigon. John Edwards moved to fourth within the No. 24 BMW M8 with Timo Glock falling to fifth within the No. 25 BMW M8.

Stevan McAleer led the LMP3 contingent within the No. 6 Duqueine. Joao Barbosa within the No. 33 Ligier ran second with Oliver Askew third within the No. 74 Ligier.

Matteo Cressoni within the No. 21 Ferrari (photograph at high) led the GTD class over Corey Lewis within the No. 1 Lamborghini. Aaron Telitz was third within the No. 14 Lexus.